FE43DF93-13CD-493E-BEF2-A77A9E7D6926 Copenhagen Consensus Center Logo
Copenhagen Consensus Center

The Expert Panel

The Copenhagen Consensus 2004 Expert Panel was chosen from among the world's foremost economists. 

    Expert Panel


    Robert Fogel

    Professor of Economics at the University of Chicago. In 1993 Fogel shared the Nobel Memorial Price in Economics with Professor North for ”having renewed research in economic history by applying economic theory and quantitative methods in order to explain economic and institutional change” 

    Robert Fogel on Copenhagen Consensus


    Vernon Smith

    Professor of Economics at Chapman University’s Argyros School of Business and Economics and School of Law in Orange, California, a research scholar at George Mason University Interdisciplinary Center for Economic Science, and a Fellow of the Mercatus Center. Professor Smith was the co-recipient with Daniel Kahneman of the 2002 Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences.

    Vernon Smith on Copenhagen Consensus


    Nancy Stokey

    Frederick Henry Prince Distinguished Service Professor of Economics at the University of Chicago. Professor Stokey has published significant research in the areas of economic growth and development, as well as papers on economic history.

    Nancy Stokey on Copenhagen Consensus


    Thomas Schelling

    Distinguished University Professor, Emeritus at the University of Maryland. For twenty years he was the Lucius N. Littauer Professor of Political Economy at the John F. Kennedy School of Government. Professor Schelling was the co-recipient with Robert Aumann of the 2005 Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences.

    Thomas Schelling on Copenhagen Consensus


    Douglass North

    Recipient of the 1992 John R. Commons Award and winner, with Robert Fogel, of the 1993 Nobel Prize in Economics. North's research has focused on the formation of political and economic institutions and the consequences of these institutions on the performance of economies through time, including such areas as property rights, transaction costs, and the free rider problem.

    Douglass North on Copenhagen Consensus


    Bruno Frey

    Professor of Economics and Research Director at the Center for Research in Economics Management and the Arts at the University of Zurich. Frey has written extensively on public choice and non-market economics including happiness and economics, motivation and knowledge transfer, and arts and economics.

    Bruno Frey on Copenhagen Consensus



    Jagdish Bhagwati

    University Professor at Columbia University and a senior fellow for international economics at the Council on Foreign Relations. Regarded as one of the foremost international trade theorists of his generation, he has also made contributions to development theory and policy, public finance, immigration, and to the new theory of political economy. 

    Jagdish Bhagwati on Copenhagen Consensus


     Justin Yufi Lin

    Chief Economist and Senior Vice President, Development Economics at World Bank. Lin was professor and founding director of the China Center for Economic Research (CCER) at Peking University and professor at the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology until June 2008 when he became the World Bank Chief Economist. His articles have appeared in various academic journals such as American Economic Review and Journal of Political Economy.

    Justin Yufi Lin on Copenhagen Consensus