FE43DF93-13CD-493E-BEF2-A77A9E7D6926 Copenhagen Consensus Center Logo
Copenhagen Consensus Center


The Expert Panel

Finn E. Kydland

Nobel Laureate in Economics (2004), Professor of Economics, University of California

Ricardo Hausmann

Director, Center for International Development at HarvardUniversity, Professor of the Practice of Economic Development,John F. Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University

José Antonio Ocampo

Professor at the School of International and Public Affairs and Fellow of the Committee on Global Thought at ColumbiaUniversity. Former United Nations Under Secretary General for Economic and Social Affairs

Andrés Velasco

Minister of Finance for Chile (on leave from the Kennedy School of Government)

Nancy Birdsall

President, Center for Global Development, Washington

Jere Berhman

W.R. Kenan, Jr. Professor of Economics; Director of PopulationStudies Center, University of Pennsylvania

Nora Lustig

Shapiro Visiting Professor at the Elliott School of International Affairs in George Washington University; former Director of UNDP's Poverty Group

John H. Coatsworth

Professor of History and Monroe Gutman Professor of Latin American Affairs at Harvard University

Orazio Attanasio

Professor of Economics at University College London and Director of Center for Evaluation and Development Policies at IFS

Authors of Solution Papers


Mark P. Jones

Associate Professor, Department of Political Science, Rice University


Paul Glewwe

Lead Author. Professor, Department of Applied Economics, University of Minnesota

Amy Damon

Research Assistant, Department of Applied Economics, University of Minnesota 

Employment/Social Security

Alejandra Cox Edwards

Professor, Economics Department, California State University Long Beach


Roger Sedjo

Senior fellow, Resources for the Future

Fiscal Problems

Miguel Braun

Director, Center for the Implementation of Public Policies Promoting Equity and Growth (CIPPEC)


Philip Musgrove

Deputy Editor, Global Health for Health Affairs, former World Bank


José Luis Guasch

Lead Author. Professor, Department of Economics, University of California at San Diego and Senior Regional Advisor, World Bank

Julio A. Gonzales

Infrastructure Economist, World Bank

Tomas Serebrisky

Senior Infrastrucure Economist, World Bank


Sebastian Galiani

Associate Professor, Department of Economics, Washington University in Saint Louis

Public Administration and Institutions

Susan Rose-Ackerman

Henry R. Luce Professor of Jurisprudence, Law School and Department of Political Science, Yale Law School

Violence and Crime

Mark Cohen

Lead Author. Justin Potter Professor of American Competitive Enterprise and Professor of Law, Owen Graduate School of Management, Vanderbilt University

Mauricio Rubio Pardo

Researcher, Universidad Externado de Colombia