FE43DF93-13CD-493E-BEF2-A77A9E7D6926 Copenhagen Consensus Center Logo
Copenhagen Consensus Center

The Expert Panel

The Expert Panel was comprised of five eminent economists: Jagdish Bhagwati, Finn Kydland, Thomas C. Schelling, Vernon L. Smith, and Nancy L. Stokey. Together with CCC President Bjorn Lomborg, the Expert Panel met a...

    Expert Panel

    To help promote discussion about the best response to global warming, the Copenhagen Consensus Center assembled an Expert Panel of stellar economists - including three Nobel Laureates - to consider the research presented in the project.

    World-class economists have been chosen because they are specialists in analyzing costs and benefits.

    They met in September 2009 to consider the research presented here, engage with the authors, and will then form conclusions about which solutions to climate change are the most promising.

    The members of the Expert Panel were: 

    Jagdish Bhagwati

    University Professor at Columbia University and a senior fellow for international economics at the Council on Foreign Relations. Regarded as one of the foremost international trade theorists of his generation, he has also made contributions to development theory and policy, public finance, immigration, and to the new theory of political economy. 

    Jagdish Bhagwati on Copenhagen Consensus

    Finn Kydland

    Henley Professor of Economics at the University of California, Santa Barbara, and director of The Laboratory for Aggregate Economics and Finance. Professor Kydland was the co-recipient with Edward Prescott of the 2004 Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences.

    Finn Kydland on Copenhagen Consensus

    Thomas Schelling

    Distinguished University Professor, Emeritus at the University of Maryland. For twenty years he was the Lucius N. Littauer Professor of Political Economy at the John F. Kennedy School of Government. Professor Schelling was the co-recipient with Robert Aumann of the 2005 Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences.

    Thomas Schelling on Copenhagen Consensus

    Vernon Smith

    Professor of Economics at Chapman University’s Argyros School of Business and Economics and School of Law in Orange, California, a research scholar at George Mason University Interdisciplinary Center for Economic Science, and a Fellow of the Mercatus Center. Professor Smith was the co-recipient with Daniel Kahneman of the 2002 Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences.

    Vernon Smith on Copenhagen Consensus

    Nancy Stokey

    Frederick Henry Prince Distinguished Service Professor of Economics at the University of Chicago. Professor Stokey has published significant research in the areas of economic growth and development, as well as papers on economic history.

    Nancy Stokey on Copenhagen Consensus