Copenhagen Consensus II
Home Menu

Expert Panel

Chosen from among the world's foremost economists, the Copenhagen Consensus 2008 Expert Panel comprises:


Robert Mundell

University Professor at Columbia University in New York. Professor Mundell has been an adviser to a number of international agencies and organizations around the world. In 1999, Professor Mundell received the Nobel Prize in Economics.  In 2001 he was appointed Companion of the Order of Canada.

Robert Mundell on Copenhagen Consensus


Vernon Smith

Professor of Economics at Chapman University’s Argyros School of Business and Economics and School of Law in Orange, California, a research scholar at George Mason University Interdisciplinary Center for Economic Science, and a Fellow of the Mercatus Center. Professor Smith was the co-recipient with Daniel Kahneman of the 2002 Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences.

Vernon Smith on Copenhagen Consensus


Nancy Stokey

Frederick Henry Prince Distinguished Service Professor of Economics at the University of Chicago. Professor Stokey has published significant research in the areas of economic growth and development, as well as papers on economic history.

Nancy Stokey on Copenhagen Consensus


Thomas Schelling

Distinguished University Professor, Emeritus at the University of Maryland. For twenty years he was the Lucius N. Littauer Professor of Political Economy at the John F. Kennedy School of Government. Professor Schelling was the co-recipient with Robert Aumann of the 2005 Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences.

Thomas Schelling on Copenhagen Consensus


Douglass North

Recipient of the 1992 John R. Commons Award and winner, with Robert Fogel, of the 1993 Nobel Prize in Economics. North's research has focused on the formation of political and economic institutions and the consequences of these institutions on the performance of economies through time, including such areas as property rights, transaction costs, and the free rider problem.

Douglass North on Copenhagen Consensus


Jagdish Bhagwati

University Professor at Columbia University and a senior fellow for international economics at the Council on Foreign Relations. Regarded as one of the foremost international trade theorists of his generation, he has also made contributions to development theory and policy, public finance, immigration, and to the new theory of political economy. 

Jagdish Bhagwati on Copenhagen Consensus


Francois Bourguignon

Bourguignon is a specialist in the economics of development, public policy, economic growth, income distribution and redistribution, inequality and poverty measurements, and has published more than 200 articles and several volumes.

Francois Bourguignon on Copenhagen Consensus


Finn Kydland

Henley Professor of Economics at the University of California, Santa Barbara, and director of The Laboratory for Aggregate Economics and Finance. Professor Kydland was the co-recipient with Edward Prescott of the 2004 Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences.

Finn Kydland on Copenhagen Consensus